How do I bookmark contacts?
If you want to bookmark (save) a contact, you can do this by clicking on the “Bookmark contact” button. This is directly next to the “Write ClubMail” button at the top centre of the profile.
When you bookmark a contact, it is automatically saved to the "Bookmarks" folder. You will now receive notifications on your wall about all activities of your new contact.
Note: When you bookmark a contact, the bookmarked person will not be aware that you have done so.
What settings options are available when I bookmark a contact?
If you bookmark a contact using the button in the profile or after writing a ClubMail, the following setting options are available:
Here you can select the folder to which you want to add the new contact.
You can either sort your contacts into a predefined folder ("Favourites", "Bookmarks" or "Organisers, Clubs etc."), or create your own folders. For example, if you want to bookmark various photographers' profiles, it might be useful to create a "Photographers" folder.
You can create a new folder by clicking on "New folder" in the "My contacts" contact manager on the right, below the existing folders.
If you do not select a folder, the contact will automatically be added to "Favourites". You can of course also add a contact to several folders.
You can use comments to note down important information such as contact details or the correct name of the contact, or to write a short story about what you have in common.
Note: Your comments cannot be viewed publicly. Only you can see your comments on your contacts.
Three useful functions are available to you when you bookmark a contact:
* Mark as "personally known”
By marking a contact as "personally known", you will be helping to keep JOYclub free of fakes. Only members who have been marked as "personally known" by five other members get a green tick after their username.
* Show on wall
When you bookmark a contact, this option is selected by default. All the contact's activities will be displayed on your wall under “My JOYclub”. You will then see all new pictures, videos, status messages, dates and other news without having to visit the contact's profile. If you do not want this, you can simply untick the box.
* Show in messenger
Just tick the box and the contact will be displayed in your messenger. Messenger enables you to see when the contact is online so you can quickly get in touch with them.
* Like (only for company profiles, e.g. clubs or shops)
If you like a club, shop or other company profile, you can indicate this in the contact manager. A "like" is a required in order to register as a regular. The number of "likes" appears in the top right-hand corner of each club profile. Your username will not be displayed when you "like".
* Become a regular in your favourite club (only for clubs, etc.)
To register as a regular in your favourite club, you have to have previously "liked" the club in question. Registering as a regular works in exactly the same way as a friend request and is the equivalent for clubs, etc. When you register as a regular, your username will appear in the profile of the club.
You can also set or change all options later under My contacts.
If you want to bookmark a member as more than just a contact, you can also offer them a friendship. Unlike bookmarking the contact, however, the friend request has to be accepted to become active. Friendship enables a variety of other functions such as displaying friends publicly in friends lists, displaying connections between you and other members and sending kisses.
Once you have edited the contact entry, simply click on "Save" to bookmark the contact.